Rue de Creperie, Fitzroy

IMGP2689

My friend and I were told by a someone living in Melbourne originally from our hometown that we had to go to Fitzroy and walk along Brunswick street to experience the area’s hipster culture. And although we did enjoy the lovely and unique shops and the wonderful and wacky hipsters, I think what we most enjoyed was coming upon Rue de Creperie.

It was extremely hot that day and we were looking for somewhere to eat when we looked up and there was Rue de Creperie. I had been craving crepes since I got to Australia but hadn’t been able to find any places that served the gluten free variety (I hadn’t really tried that hard).

We checked the menu on the outside and it indicated that any one of the number of sweet and savoury (galette) crepes could be made gluten free using buckwheat batter. I was so thrilled that I even asked the chef preparing and serving the crepes if they really could all be made gluten free and when he confirmed it, we walked right in and checked out the menu in detail.

My friend immediately ordered the Pepperoni Galette while I took at least 10 minutes to decide what I wanted because there were too many delicious sounding options!

I was teetering between the Apple Delight, which sounded a lot like apple pie, the Cheesecake Special and the Salted Caramel, but ended up going with the Salted Caramel because I just kept coming back to it. A crepe filled with banana and topped with salted caramel and vanilla ice cream. How could that not be a winner?

Salted Caramel Crepe

The crepes arrived very quickly and not only were they delicious but they were also visually stunning. The buckwheat batter was fantastic and even though I thought the crepe might be too sweet, it was perfect and I ate the whole thing. The cold of the ice cream perfectly complemented the warmth of the bananas and caramel and fully satisfied my crepe craving! My friend also really enjoyed her galette and we both slugged down a huge serving of ice cold water that the waiter brought out, something we were thrilled with because we had not yet come across a restaurant in Australia serving ice water.

I will definitely stop in to try the Apple Delight or some other marvelous creation if I am ever in Melbourne again and I strongly recommend that you do too!

Leave a Reply

